S.I. No.666 of 2016: International Protection Act 2015 (Places of Detention) Regulations 2016

S.I. No.666 of 2016

These Regulations prescribe the places of detention for the purposes of section 20 of the International Protection Act 2015. Schedule 1 prescribes the following designated places of detention:

  • Castlerea Place of Detention,
  • Central Mental Hospital Dundrum,
  • Cloverhill Prison,
  • Cork Prison,
  • Limerick Prison,
  • The Midlands Prison,
  • Mountjoy Prisons,
  • Saint Patrick’s Institution Dublin,
  • The Training Unit, Glengarriff Parade, Dublin and
  • Wheatfield Place of Detention, Dublin.


Schedule  2 prescribes every Garda Síochána station in the State as a place of detention.

Date:31 Dec 2016
Legislation Type:Statutory Instrument (IE)
Geographic Focus:Ireland
References:International Protection Act 2015
In Force:Yes
Keywords:Detention, Detention Facility
Go Back