Trends in migration to Ireland of nationals of countries with visa liberalisation agreements

Download File


This study looks at trends in migration to Ireland from certain countries in the Western Balkans and from certain Eastern Partnership countries that have agreed visa liberalisation agreements with the European Union over the period 2009–2017.

The visa liberalisation agreements in place for these countries allow short-stay visa-free travel to the Schengen Area for holders of biometric passports. The border-free Schengen Area comprises 22 Member States of the European Union and the four European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries. Ireland is not part of the Schengen Area and does not participate in the EU’s common visa policy. However, the report seeks to provide a parallel overview of trends in migration to Ireland of nationals of the countries concerned, in circumstances where there is no visa waiver for these nationals to travel to Ireland.

See also:

Author(s):Anne Sheridan and Sarah Groarke
Publisher:Economic and Social Research Institute
Publication Date:08 Aug 2019
Reference Period:01 Jan 2009 to 01 Jan 2017
Geographic Focus:Ireland
Go Back