Lifting of temporary visa restrictions announced

16 Jun 2021

The Department of Justice has announced the lifting of the temporary entry and transit visa restrictions that came into effect on 28 January 2021.

Restrictions, including the suspension of visa-free travel, are lifted for nationals of South Africa, Brazil, and other South American countries. The move is in line with the Government’s Resilience and Recovery Plan for Living with COVID-19.

The lifting of these restrictions comes at the same time as the processing of long-stay visa applications also resumes.

The following table outlines the changes following the lifting of visa restrictions on 16 June 2021: