New post-Brexit Visa Scheme announced

23 Dec 2020

On 23rd December 2020, the Department of Justice announced the introduction of a new preclearance/visa scheme for non-EEA family members of UK nationals seeking to move to Ireland after 31st December 2020 (the end of the Transition Period under the Withdrawal Agreement).

From 1st January 2021, eligible non-EEA citizens can apply for permission to live in the State and, if successful, they will be able to travel and live in Ireland with their UK National family member.

Applications are only required from those planning to stay in Ireland for a period longer than 3 months. All applications must be made from outside of Ireland and applicants must remain outside the State while their application is being processed.

Further information regarding eligibility requirements for the post-Brexit preclearance/visa scheme can be viewed in this Department of Justice policy document.

Applications can be made online from 1st January 2021 on the Department of Justice website.