Outcome of European Council meeting and European Parliament session (July 2019)

04 Jul 2019

European Council conclusions (30 June – 2 July 2019):

  • Charles Michel (Belgium) was elected as European Council President for period 1 December 2019 to 31 May 2022
  • Ursula von der Leyen (Germany) was proposed as European Commission President, subject to the European Parliament support in mid-July 2019
  • Josep Borrell (Spain) was proposed as the candidate for High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, subject to the agreement of the President-elect of the Commission
  • Christine Lagarde (France) was proposed for the role of President of the European Central Bank, subject to receiving the relevant recommendation and opinions in accordance with the Treaties

European Parliament outcome (2 – 4 July):

  • David Sassoli (Italy) was elected President of the European Parliament
  • Mairead McGuinness (Ireland) was re-elected First Vice-President of the European Parliament, along with 13 other Vice-Presidents

For more information:-

Read European Council conclusions, 30 June – 2 July 2019

See European Parliament Press Release – David Sassoli elected President of the European Parliament

See European Parliament Press Release – The new European Parliament Vice-Presidents

More news