Impact of Visa Liberalisation on Countries of Destination: EMN Synthesis Report

adminLeave a Comment

Download File


This synthesis report presents the main findings of the EMN Study on Impact of Visa Liberalisation on Countries of Destination. As of 2018, five Western Balkan and three Eastern Partnership countries benefit from visa liberalisation to the EU Schengen area, following a series of visa liberalisation roadmaps and action plans: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Monte-negro, Serbia, Republic of North Macedonia, Georgia, Republic of Moldova and Ukraine.

This synthesis report explores the impact of visa liberalisation in specific areas (e.g. tourism, legal migration, bilateral cooperation) and looks at trends in irregular migration and other issues that have been observed in the EU Member States and Norway as countries of destination during the period 2007-2017. By focussing on the countries of destination, this report gives a new perspective into the impacts and challenges of visa liberalisation faced by EU Member States and Norway.

This synthesis report was prepared on the basis of national contributions from 26 EMN NCPs[1] according to a common template developed by the EMN and followed by EMN NCPs to ensure, to the extent possible, comparability.

See also: 


[1] Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, UK and Norway

Author(s):European Migration Network
Publisher:Directorate General for Migration and Home Affairs, European Commission
Publication Date:25 Mar 2019
Geographic Focus:Europe
Go Back

Leave a Reply